close
TECHNOLOGY

How not to appear connected in Facebook Messenger

Facebook Messenger is one of the most used messaging applications in the world. Not only can you stay in touch with your friends or family. You can also use it for work either to connect with your customers or colleagues. That’s why sometimes you want certain people not to bother you when you’re online.

This option is set by default for everyone to see you connected. So we’re going to teach you a method to change your status to offline even if you’re using the application or connected to Facebook. To do this you will have to perform a couple of simple actions, tando within the Messenger app as in the Facebook app itself.

Remember that even if you appear disconnected for the rest of people, you will be able to continue using it in a normal way. You’ll be able to read messages and conversations and chat with other people. You’ll just be hiding your real state.

Disable online status in Facebook Messenger

To disable your status, the first thing we’re going to do is open the Facebook Messeger application.

deactivate active state on android facebook messenger

Once inside, click on our profile picture, which is in the upper right corner. Doing so will open a screen with several options. Look for the option Availability and click on it. A new window opens with “Show when you are active” and a slider that you have to deactivate.

By doing so, the application will automatically stop showing us as Connected even though we are using the App. However, users who are using the Facebook app and not the Messenger app will still be able to see you as “Connected”. To do this we go to the next step, disable the option also in the Facebook app.

Disable status on the Facebook app

In the same way that we have done in the Messenger app, we are going to remove the status of Connected in the Facebook app. To do this we open our mobile application and go to the Options Menu (the 3 horizontal stripes in the upper right corner).

Once inside the main menu, we look for the option Configuration and Privacy, when clicking on it a new window will be opened. Now click on Account Configuration and in the new window, click on the slider next to Faceboook Chat.

This way no one will ever be able to see our online state. Now you can surf without being disturbed by your contacts.

Tags :